Knowing Yourself- About the Author

“Don’t ask what the world needs. Ask what makes you come alive, and go do it. Because what the world needs is people who have come alive.” -Howard Thurman

Are you where you want to be? Do you know who you want to be? Self-awareness can provide us with the necessary tools to successfully build upon our strengths and acknowledge personal weaknesses. Being self-aware can help us all understand ourselves so that we may better serve our creator. My name is Lindy and I am an ENFP!

When I first took the Myers Briggs Type Indicator (MBTI) test I was a freshman in college and so conflicted on my goals and dreams for myself. One of the reasons I had such confliction was my life had drastically changed within a day. I had injured myself and was in a major slump. I had received my sixth concussion playing volleyball. My sixth concussion playing the sport I loved would become my greatest blessing, but at the time it had felt like a confusing punishment. I had played volleyball for years and had earned my spot as the starting libero for the university I played for. Volleyball for me was a sport that I loved and my talent. I never truly thought of myself separate from the sport; therefore, I had found a good part of my identity in that game. This community that I had grown into through all of the highs and lows was taken from me in an instance. Who was I without volleyball? When I heard the doctor tell me my volleyball career was over I felt the weirdest feeling of confusion and peace. I did not think you could feel both of those emotions at once, but I had. Now I had a new sense of excitement for the future and other potential paths for myself. I was optimistic.

As I began to dream I began to get agitated. One of my struggles was that I genuinely liked everything, but did not love anything. I jumped between degree programs and career ideas without truly sticking with anything. Any idea that seemed worth daydreaming about would begin to fade for me as soon as the dream began; thus, I could not keep a consistent dream in place. I began to lose hope for a successful career as I could not successfully make up my mind! I did not know myself outside of volleyball.

At the time of this confusion, I was freely given the MBTI test by a school counselor who had felt bad for me due to my concussion and lack of activity. I had absolutely no idea what this test was and how much it would inspire me to be a better person, but also call out my obvious flawed tendencies that needed some fixing. The results were life changing.

I had taken the extensive MBTI test, which was enormous and took several days to complete. When I got my results back I was eager to look for clues and advice as to who I was and what I should be. My results were four letters. Four letters I had no idea what they meant and what a reality check it would be for me and my life. ENFP. Extravert, Intuitive, Feeling, and Perceiving are what those four letters stood for. By themselves, they have no merit, but together they have helped provide the shaping of my cognitive functions. Why do I respond the way that I do? Why do I have these tendencies? Many answers were found in my results.

Many of these truths these results provided me were obvious traits I had owned my whole life proudly; however, it was the weaknesses that were so life-altering. “Poor practical skills”, “has difficulty focusing”, “overthinks situations”, “highly emotional”, “stressed easily”, etc. These flaws that I carried quite obviously were hindering me from following through with my many hopes and dreams. These weaknesses were prominent in continued lies I would tell myself about my dreams and about my goals. Quitting became the common theme with my numerous exciting ideas. Instead of pushing past the negativity that I believed to be true about myself, I would give up. I told myself this notion of giving up would end right then. This was a promise I made to myself.

I began to look at my strengths and weaknesses in a different light. They exist, but I can grow them, I can change them! Many people will read their strengths and weaknesses and laugh about how true they are, but why not use your results as a guide that this is where you are, but it is not where you will end. Will I always struggle with my weaknesses? Absolutely! I have decided on acknowledging that I am flawed and that I cannot do it by myself, but in fact, I need a lot of help. This reality check pushed me into reading other truths. The truths I am referring to are the words God has spoken over me and over you. God has a plan for you. Wake up and desire His will! We are all unique, we are all beautiful. I will be a soldier for Christ, will you? I am creative, and I am passionate, I am caring, I am curious, and I know how to set aside time to enjoy life. My fellow ENFP’s, are you struggling to pursue your many dreams? If so work hard and press on for Christ! Find your motivation in Him!

Volleyball was a passion and taught me many amazing life lessons, but my identity is not found in a sport anymore. My identity is found in Jesus Christ. Where do you find your identity? Do you find it in work? In a relationship? How about in your role as a parent? If you find your identity in these things of this world you will not find true joy. You will not be living in your potential.Your strengths are probably different from mine, and God needs different soldiers to carry out his message. My role may differ from yours, but I will use my gifts and I hope you acknowledge and use yours!

Much love,

πΏπ’Ύπ“ƒπ’Ήπ“Ž π’œπ“ƒπ“ƒ π‘…π’Άπ“‚π“ˆπ“π’Άπ“ƒπ’Ή

Leave a comment